LibGuides: International Arbitration: Online Resources

Subscription Databases

The law library subscribes to a number of databases that focus on international commercial arbitration and investor state dispute resolution. Other broad coverage databases that offer practice area resources specific to international arbitration are also listed.

KluwerArbitration This link opens in a new window
This database provides the most extensive collection of treaties, national legislation, judicial opinions and arbitral awards from around the world in the field of international commercial arbitration. It also includes leading Kluwer treatises on international arbitration, articles and primary documents. Practitioner tools allow users to create "smart charts" comparing national legislation across specified jurisdictions or arbitral rules from one institution to another.
Jus Mundi Academic Research This link opens in a new window
This database of international arbitration law includes thousands of exclusive awards, settlements, decisions, and procedural orders from around the world. It also includes documentation such as pleadings, expert opinions, amicus and witness statements. Multilingual searching is enabled. Books and articles from the ICC Dispute Resolution Library, the IBA and Juris Publishing are integrated with search results or can be browsed separately. Quick summaries of law and cases provided by international arbitration lawyers are also included.
Global Arbitration Review This link opens in a new window
Global Arbitration Review publishes six issues per year providing news and analysis from arbitrators at law firms and corporations on topics such as investment treaty arbitration, commercial and maritime/offshore arbitration and litigation. Also available are Guides to Regional Arbitration, interviews with practitioners, surveys and lists of leading arbitrators such as the GAR 100. Password required for off-campus/wireless access.
Click here for our Law faculty, student, staff password.
Investor State Law Guide This link opens in a new window
Investor State Law Guide is an online database designed for researching investment treaty law. Research tools such as the Subject Navigator, Treaty Article Citator, Jurisprudence Citator and Full Text Search take you directly to where specific issues and sub-issues are dealt with by tribunals in decisions and awards. Terms and Phrases allows you to find decisions and awards defining or discussing the law related to terms in treaties or commonly used in investment law. The full-text of treaties and arbitral rules are also included. To access the database, click on the Log In button in the top right of the screen. Does not work with Google Chrome.
Transnational Dispute Management (TDM) This link opens in a new window
This online service aims to be a portal for news, insight and discussion of new developments in global transnational dispute management. Topics include international commercial arbitration, investment arbitration, mediation, negotiation and conflict avoidance. The service consists of the TDM Journal plus selected articles from other journals since 2004. There is also a growing collection of investment awards, laws, regulations and other sources of law. OGEMID (oil gas energy infrastructure and investment disputes) is an internet-based intelligence service and discussion group. The OGEMID archive is searchable on TDM.
ICC Dispute Resolution Library This link opens in a new window
This resource contains ICC dispute resolution awards, the Rules since 1922, the ICC Dispute Resolution Bulletin since 1990, the Court of Arbitration statistical reports since 1997, all Commission on Arbitration reports, all ICC publications including the Enforcement Guide and Institute of World Business Law Dossiers, and more.
Click here for our Law faculty, student, staff password.
Inside US Trade/World Trade Online This link opens in a new window
Provides daily news and analysis of international trade developments. A database library comprising over 100,000 valuable trade-related documents selected by our editors including policy papers, WTO decisions, draft and final regulations, court decisions, legislation and much more.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw provides a number of international arbitration materials, including awards, rules, conventions, legislation, model laws, model clauses, practice guides, and secondary sources.
These materials can be accessed either using the link above or by typing “international arbitration materials” in the search box on the main Westlaw launch page, and choosing the suggested link when it appears. In addition, Westlaw provides access to another product, Practical Law that provides practitioner oriented content. Practical Law maintains a collection focused on International Arbitration. It contains practice notes, expert commentary, checklists, standard documents and clauses, toolkits, and legal updates. These materials can be filtered by topic, resource type, and country.
Investment Arbitration Reporter This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News and analysis on investor state dispute settlement claims.
Click here for our Law faculty, student, staff password.

Websites

There are many free web resources that are useful international commercial and investment arbitration research. This is a select list of sites that contain analysis, news, international agreements, national arbitral statutes, and model rules and arbitral rules.

New York Convention Guide
This website was created to host information on the implementation of the Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards, signed in New York on 10 June 1958, with a view of promoting its uniform and effective application throughout the world. The website provides access to the case-law from a number of jurisdictions on the application of the Convention by domestic courts as well as information on the ratification of the Convention by selected States. This website was developed by Shearman & Sterling and Columbia Law School, in cooperation with UNCITRAL.
UNCITRAL
UNCITRAL is formulating modern, fair, and harmonized rules on commercial transactions. Their website includes: Conventions, model laws and rules which are acceptable worldwide; legal and legislative guides and recommendations of great practical value; updated information on case law and enactments of uniform commercial law; technical assistance in law reform projects; and regional and national seminars on uniform commercial law
Investment Treaty News
ITN offers news, analysis and opinions on international investment law and its implications for sustainable development. ITN is published by the International Institute for Sustainable Development, a non-profit research institute with offices in Canada, Switzerland and the United States.
UNCTAD’s IIA Databases:International Investment Agreements Navigator
The IIA Navigator is a free International Investment Agreements database. It contains more than 3,400 treaties and model agreements, and allows for advanced searches by type of agreement, geographical region, country grouping, treaty status, full text, and treaty language. This Database is primarily built on information provided by governments on a voluntary basis. While every effort is made to ensure the accuracy and completeness of its content, UNCTAD assumes no responsibility for eventual errors or omissions in these data. In the event of doubt regarding the content of the Database, it is suggested that you contact the relevant government department of the State(s) concerned.
UNCTAD’s IIA Databases: Investment Settlement Dispute Navigator
The Investment Dispute Settlement Navigator is a comprehensive and regularly updated collection of treaty-based international arbitrations between investors and States.
It contains essential information about each case and offers many user-friendly tools for searching and filtering the data.
International Treaty Arbitration
The International Treaty Arbitration website is maintained and edited by Professor Andrew Newcombe at the University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. Professor Newcombe’s research focuses on investment treaty law and arbitration